Open Modal

Wheatfield Businessman Newest Jasper County Commissioner

Wheatfield businessman and Jasper County Councilman Jeff DeYoung is the new Jasper County Commissioner from District 2.  Thursday night, Republican Precinct Committeemen and women met in a special caucus to make their selection, which was required following the resignation of Commissioner Kendell Culp, after his election as the new State Representative from District 16.  Five ballots were needed for DeYoung to secure the majority of votes of the 24 precinct officials who were present.  The four others seeking the position were Craig Standish, Steve Jordan, Barb Neihouser and Diana Boersma.  DeYoung will be sworn in as commissioner on Friday, November 18th. His vacancy on the county council means another caucus will need to take place, and that date will be set by Republican Chairman Jeff Phillips, who presided over the caucus.

John Doe

John Doe

Share a little biographical information to fill out your profile. This may be shown publicly. Such a coffee drinker, a late night sleeper, or whatever sound clumsy.

View All Posts

Recommended Posts